: The Scratchpad :

Ubuntu 9.10 Tricks and Workarounds

I would like to resize the root (/) partition. How should I do that?

Ans : Boot using the Ubuntu CD and from the boot menu, select “Try Ubuntu without any change to your computer”. Once booted, goto Administration > GParted.

This will allow you to resize the root partition.

When installing Ubuntu on a newer hardware (eg: Dell Latitude E6410) my screen flickers and the installation does not proceed. What should I do?

Ans : Press F4 and select ‘Safe mode Graphics”

I installed Ubuntu using ‘Safe mode Graphics’. I tried upgrading the NVIDIA driver, but now the GUI does not come up. I am using nvidia nvs 3100M that came with Dell Latitude E6410?

Ans :

1.)Download the following driver: http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-display-ia32-195.36.24.html

2.)$chmod a+x <downloaded file>

3.)CTRL+ALT+F1

4.)$/etc/init.d/gdm stop

5.)RUN the downloaded file.

6.)Reboot

September 13, 2010 Posted by | Linux Tips | Leave a comment